Snarkiness Begets Press ~ Thanks Louise Edington!

Meet Bob, my 72 year old father (dancing with me on my wedding day). If you were meeting Bob in person right now he’d put out his hand for a shake and say, “I’m Bob, but you can just call me SA.” and then he’d laugh that hearty, down from the bottom of his soul, bellowing laugh that he laughs each and every time he says this same thing. I love that he cracks himself up (and STILL cracks himself up). By the way … SA is short for Smart Ass.

Why might you ask am I telling you about my dad when in the title of my post the name is Louise??? Hold on!!! I’ll get you there. 😉

You see I met Louise Edington of Lou Loves Learning last fall at a conference. Been keeping up via Facebook. She lives in the cold, cold state of Utah. And when the kids and I took a driving trip to Denver Louise and I started our banter about cold vs. warm, mountains vs. beaches, so forth and so on. About a week ago I had the pleasure of meeting up with Louise while she was on a family vacation. I heard her say the family wanted to move here. My banter via Facebook immediately changed! It was now all about getting her here;)  Bantering obviously increased as she spoke of their love of the area and desire to one day move here. Each post I saw about LA I added a snarky, smart ass or taunting comment! And that my friends is HOW you gain the most activity on someone’s Facebook Page! Growing up the daughter of a Smart Ass earned me this fabulous honor! Thanks Louise for rewarding the inner snark in me!

Back to my dad (you didn’t think the post was over did you; I still have to bring it back to me). My dad was always the intuitive cook in the house. He showed me early on that you can open the fridge and make a new meal out of leftovers and somehow he made it taste good. He was the intuitive cook, adding a pinch of this or a dash of that on whim …  I had to follow recipes to make anything taste decent. Yes, Dad gave me the smart ass gene but I DID NOT get the intuitive cook gene. So you might be wondering at this point how the heck I’m a food company rep and posting recipes and dinner ideas without this important cooking gene??? Well my friends; THAT is the magic of Wildtree;)

Did you get the intuitive cooking gene?

42 Responses to “Snarkiness Begets Press ~ Thanks Louise Edington!”

  1. BBQ Meatloaf and Roasted Veggies; a perfectly easy home-cooked Sunday dinner! « life as a mom (preneur) Says:

    […] not typically a fan of tomato-saucey meatloafs. I grew up with my dad’s meatloaf: 1 lb. ground beef + 1lb. pork sausage + 1 onion chopped + 1 egg. It is a heavenly, […]

  2. Lisa Ann Landry Says:

    I have a smart ass living in my head & with my southern roots I can through down – collard greens, peach cobbler, gumbo, okra stew, leg of lamb, red beans & rice are just a few of my favorites. Love your writing smarty pants.

    Lisa Ann Landry
    I’m an exuberant force of light… Come light up your life
    http://www.imagedevelopmentgroup.com/speakers.html

  3. Connie Umbenhower Says:

    Enjoyed your post Yvonne. I did inherit the intuitive cooking gene and can whip up some pretty yummy stuff with just a couple of ingredients and some spices., but I do wish I had the smart ass gene too. – it would have come in handy a few times in my life.

  4. Maridel Bowes Says:

    Thanks for a fun read, Yvonne! I most certainly did not inherit the intuitive cooking gene. In fact, it may be missing from our family. But I have lived with an intuitive cook and enjoyed the pleasures of his “never the same” dishes. I’m mostly intimidated by snarkiness, but can be a bit of a work shark on occasion–which always shocks people and I figure is good for them!

  5. Darcie Newton Says:

    Snarks Rule! Actually I think there is a bit of the snark in all of us, just a matter of how much we let the world see. I love how yours created a relationship with Louise.

    I really like the term intuitive cook…although I wouldn’t have called myself one when I started cooking…I think I am well on my way to becoming one. I love creating from the fridge.

    Hope our paths cross in April.

    Darcie Newton
    Discipline for profit, none for jammy zins and memorable necklaces
    http://www.mywealthspa.com

  6. jennifer Duchene Says:

    What a funny inspiring post. I love it that snarkiness can be funny, if delivered in the right way. Seems to work. I did get the creative cooking gene, but I dont cook much… so I guess one does not need it to cook well. I prefer to put my creative mastery into helping my clients live well in their spaces now. You can do the cooking!

    Jennifer Duchene
    Home Makeover Mixtress blending Lifestyle and Laughter
    http://LYShome.com

  7. Julie Labes Says:

    I definitely have the smart ass gene and I couldn’t follow a recipe to save my life. i am a “suck it and see’ cook, i throw a ton of stuff in there and see how it turns out which is pretty much how I have lived my life.

    Your post about your dad is wonderful and it is always cool when you suddenly realize the traits you inherited from your parents whether good or bad. we are after all out r parents children. Snark…that’s a funny word, can i use it?

    Julie Labes,…The Fierce over 50 feels much younger point and click junkie loves to travel does not use a jogging stroller and before you ask this is NOT my granddaughter..Woman

  8. Joan Autry Says:

    I did get the gene, but spend a lot of my time teaching folks who either didn’t get it or *trying* to teach folks who think they did (but their friends and family say their food tastes awful! LOL!). It’s a delightful gift to be able to create meals from seemingly un-related ingredients and making something wonderful! Would love to hear more about your adventures. One gene I didn’t receive was the SA….oh well! My friend Jillian (who commented above) helps me out with that one! So glad to make your “blog” acquaintance!

  9. Fiona Stolze Says:

    I had to laugh visualising your Dad saying that. Nice. And I loved what you said about the snarkiness….I’m maybe going to try that out a bit more, but starting with those who’ll forgive me most easily.

    As for the cooking, I tend to just throw things together without measuring amounts and get on with it. Recently I was given a Jamie Oliver cookbook which I’ve been having fun with but if things get too regimented, it’s no fun. Enjoyed this post!

    Fiona Stolze
    Inspired Art and Living
    http://fionastolze.wordpress.com

  10. Pat Zahn Says:

    Yvonne – I like your SA dad! I’m kind of an intuitive cook…thing is though, I don’t really enjoy cooking, I just love to eat and enjoy a challenge.

    Pat Zahn, Photo Solutions Superhero
    http://www.PatZahn.com

  11. Robbie Schlosser Says:

    Hi Yvonne,

    Thanks for such an upbeat story! You’re bringing out the SA in nearly everyone. Cooking Gene? Dunno whether I’ve got it, because I can enjoy eating whatever I whip up, much to the astonishment (and occasional disgust) of my wife.

    Robbie

  12. Laurie Hurley Says:

    Well, I have the SA gene and not the cooking gene. I wish you lived close to me so you could bring your Wildtree biz to my Heart Link group. We need a foodie! My husband sounds like your Dad. Can create a meal out of nothing and it tastes wonderful! Thanks for sharing about yourself and you Dad – God bless him for maintaining his SA attitude!

    • wildforwildtree Says:

      I know — we need to find someone up there to join my brigade and attend your heartlinks! Though I’ve decided recently that EVERY heartlink coordinator should also be be with Wildtree so they can get discounted product for the meals AND with just a sign of “what’s for dinner” could make a few sales each month in addition to their “other” biz. Because YOU don;t have enough to do, right?

  13. Jillian Says:

    You dad and my dad would get along soooooo well! My dad is also an SA, as are my brother and my husband. I’d like to think I have a bit of SA in me, too, but man, I can’t keep up with them most of the time.

    As far as the intuitive cooking gene, yes, I did get that; score one for me! At first, it drove my husband CRAZY, because I do it to the extreme (in his words): I don’t use a timer while baking, either (cue gasp from him). I bake by scent, somehow I know when a cake or cookies are just on the cusp of being ready to exit the oven. Typing this reminds me that I don’t take advantage of this as much as I should. I can’t remember the last time I baked from scratch…cookies anyone this week?

    Thanks for a great post!

    Jillian
    Jillian’s Boudoir Photography
    http://www.jilliansboudoirphotography.com

    • wildforwildtree Says:

      Well Jillian — I think my husband would MUCH prefer your sniffy baked goods super nose to my snarkiness!!!!! Too late to turn me in now. The papers were signed LONG ago. And yes, please just drop the cookies in the mail to me, thanks!

  14. Rachel Lavern Says:

    I do not have the Intuitive Cook gene–either cook from memory or a recipe. I am a bit of a SA myself. Your post makes me think of my best friend/ He is a cynic with a smiley face, bleeding snarkiness from every pore. He loves to shoot flaming verbal arrows right into the bulls-eye of every opportunity.

    Rachel Lavern
    Personal Transformation, Enlightenment and Development Coach
    “Live without limits because nothing is impossible to you.”

  15. Donna McCord Says:

    There are a lot of people in my family with the SA gene, but it passed me by; as a matter of fact I sometimes don’t even recognize the SA in other people — duh! As for the intuitive cooking gene, not sure I possess that so much either, although if I have the right ingredients around, I can sometimes be creative, and I can also look at a recipe and make changes to fit my tastes better,so might have a bit of that! I am Italian after all,and the love of good food comes with that territory I think! So I love the Wild Tree concept . When I do recognize the SA in people, I have to say it makes me laugh, and I totally appreciate the dry sense of humor…I had better,because that is my husband!

  16. Lisa Vitale Says:

    Hey girl,

    Yes snarky is an attention grabber, and you have mastered it! 🙂 It’s fun isn’t it? It only sucks when some people take it all too seriously, but then they’re not your people are they??

    I did not start out an intuitive cook, but I have become one, maybe time and practice, not sure. Now I can smell an herb or spice and know if it will be good in whatever I’m cooking. That doesn’t mean everyone else thinks it’s good, but at least I do. LOL

    Welcome to Blogger Monday!

    Lisa Vitale
    http://lisawifemom.wordpress.com

  17. Judy Stone-Goldman Says:

    Oh dear, I don’t have the Smart Ass gene (not a hint…) or the intuitive cooking gene. Not only that, I don’t have the desire for either, so I’m sure I’m genetically deficient on even more levels. But I can enjoy both in others, as I do in you! Fun story, and lucky you for meeting Louise.

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer
    http://www.thereflectivewriter.com

  18. Susan Berland Says:

    I’m afraid I didn’t get the intuitive cooking gene but I did get the Smart Ass gene and it has gotten me in trouble more than once. When you have that gene, you have to learn when to use it and when not to! =) Great post and I’m with you about encouraging Louise to move south. I’m in northern CA but L.A. is a lot closer to me than Utah!

    • wildforwildtree Says:

      Thanks Susan! I LOVE finding people I can SNARK with! Another NoCA person I MUST plan a trip up there soon. We have a family friend that lives there and has been asking when we are coming to visit so …. until then;)

  19. The Loop Says:

    I can’t believe our love of casseroles didn’t come up!

    Steve Hall
    http://nospoon99.wordpress.com/

  20. Louise Edington Says:

    Nice one Yvonne – and I get the British sarcasm gene AND the intuitive cooking gene – I often just throw stuff together and get asked for the recipe when I don’t have one! Mine comes more from laziness though – I like to throw stuff together quickly rather than think about it lol.
    So are you signing up 😉
    Louise Edington
    Find Your Freedom
    http://louiseedington.com

  21. Rita Brennan Freay Says:

    Nope. I got the smart ass gene too…lol! Even a cookbook isn’t of much help….but I try! My mom (and grandma before her) are the cooks in this family. Much to my surprise my brother likes to cook (and thinks he can) – who am I to burst that bubble! Having met you online here recently I instantly felt the snarky connection….a great thing to have if (like me)your not blessed with the cooking gene! Maybe the magic of wildtree is the answer to my cooking dielmma too……..I’m hoping! Thanks for sharing:)

    Rita Brennan Freay
    ritabrennanfreay.com
    @Rita4kids


Leave a Reply

