Curbside Composting excitement!

I’m so excited!!! I picked up my FREE counter top food waste container today from Redondo Beach public works department . The city switched waste hauler companies over the summer in an attempt to reduce the volume that Redondo Beach citizens put into the landfill each week (did you know that we each waste 1/2 lb. of food per day?). And since my own laziness sabotaged my own backyard composting project, I’m really excited about a new, easier option to reduce the amount of trash I’m sending to the landfill. And what I love even more … now meal scraps can be included! which means this curbside program kicks my little composting fruit & veggie peels, egg shells and newspaper ‘s ASS! Now I can throw all the dinner that the kids picked at and didn’t eat … in the counter top container! ohhhh … and ya know those Fresh Brothers pizza boxes … it always kills me that I can’t recycle those because of the food baked into the cardboard. Now they go into my green waste container and … it gets composted with all the meat bones, veggie peels and paper napkins!!!!! I know, I know .. it is a bit weird, even geeky, that I’m so excited about this! I can’t help it! Hubby on the other hand … he’s just shaking his head.

Do you already have your FREE counter top food waste container? (NO? then get over to 531 N. Gertruda Ave.) If you don’t live in Redondo what do you think of our new program? Do you have a similar program in your town?

2 Responses to “Curbside Composting excitement!”

  1. igralni avtomati Says:

    igralni avtomati
    Thanks for your input and I will use it for my school research that I am doing for this website.

  2. BearBound Says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!


Leave a Reply

